top of page
Holy Orders

Q. What is Holy Orders?

A. Holy Orders is a Sacrament by which bishops, priests, and other ministers of the Church are ordained and receive the power and grace to perform their sacred duties.

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate.


The priesthood is necessary for the faithful to receive the sacraments of the Church instituted by Christ to bring us grace. It is a sacred duty for good men of virtue. If you have ever considered becoming a priest ask a trusted priest to be your spiritual director.

For those who cannot become priests, it is our duty to fast and pray for holy clergy. Families should foster vocations by talking to your children about the importance of the sacraments for the salvation and sanctification of the world, and the special role of the priest in giving us an opportunity for the sacraments. 

1 Baltimore Catechism, 978

2 Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1536

bottom of page